PR / T 123.456.7890 / F 123.456.7899 / info@mysite.com / © 2023 by PR.  Proudly created with Wix.com    Webmaster:  Lorraine Brooks

Stuck inside due to COVID lockdown?

Some Online Resources for Writers Experiencing COVID-19 Lockdowns

 

1.Three COVID-19 Help, courtesy of Trisch Hopkinson's free Blog Posts:

Free workshop – “POEMUNIZE: Your Daily Shot” with Marj Hahne, Mar. 16 – April 5 @ 11:30 am EST

BY TRISHHOPKINSONPOET ON MARCH 15, 2020 • ( 8 COMMENTS )

Below is the information from Marj Hahne for her upcoming 30-minute daily workshop, starting tomorrow! Are you socially distanced? Self-quarantined? Cabin-feverish? A little po-lonely? “Literature is the most agreeable way of ignoring life,” wrote poet Fernando Pessoa (The Book of Disquiet), so let’s ignore life and stay healthy […]

POEMUNIZE:

11:30 AM–12:00 PM (Eastern) / 10:30–11:00 AM (Central) / 9:30–10:00 AM (Mountain) / 8:30–9:00 AM (Pacific)

https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Ud4enK9_Tz6FZwt9LLsKBg

 

Poemunize:

12:30–1:00 PM (Eastern) / 11:30 AM–12:00 PM (Central) /10:30–11:00 AM (Mountain) / 9:30–10:00 AM (Pacific)

https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_oMHBEp6GTdqCwJjkln7aRw

 

Prompt #349 – Writing in Stressful Times: The Covid-19 Pandemic via Adele Kenny

BY TRISHHOPKINSONPOET ON MARCH 17, 2020 • ( LEAVE A COMMENT )

Adele Kenny has a wonderfully inspiring poetry blog The Music In It: Adele Kenny’s Poetry Blog chock full of over 300 writing prompts, including her most recent post entitled Prompt #349 – Writing in Stressful Times: The Covid-19 Pandemic. She gives helpful commentary, quotes, resources, and several writing […]

 

Social/Distance Online Writing Retreat with Amanda Moore, daily starting Mar. 16

BY TRISHHOPKINSONPOET ON MARCH 16, 2020 • ( 3 COMMENTS )

Below is the information from Amanda Moore for her online writing retreat with craft tips, readings to inspire, submission suggestions and more! Poetry readings, book launches, and events have been called off to flatten the curve of COVID-19; sporting events have been cancelled or postponed, Broadway is closed, […]

 

 

 

2. Hay House "Free Resources": A list with movies, podcasts, meditations, articles, and eBooks to help counter fear, anxiety, and stress that many are experiencing due to COVID-19.  

https://www.discover.hayhouse.com/freeresources/?utm_medium=email&utm_source=9988982_hh&utm_campaign=email_offer_free_resources&sp_rid=MjExNTYyODAxMTk1S0&sp_mid=64333361&spMailingID=64333361&spUserID=MjExNTYyODAxMTk1S0&spJobID=1842290258&spReportId=MTg0MjI5MDI1OAS2

 

Hay House I Free Resources

 

3.Modern American Poetry (ModPo) is a free online MOOC that runs year round. The class is now in SloPo mode, with scheduled Focus Groups meeting to discuss selected poems and Discussion Groups underway.

A Group Discussion Thread, “Support in self-isolating”, by Mary Armour, Moderator, has started where MoPo-ers support each other and share online resources they have found that offer relief during this time of pandemic isolation. 

 

Professor Al Filreis, ModPo founder, writes, “Some ModPo folks worldwide are responding to feelings of isolation—and to the keen desire now for online community—and have formed a thread here in the ModPo discussion forums for just talking.”  

 

Participants must enroll in ModPo to participate. Here’s the link to enroll in ModPo: 

https://www.coursera.org/learn/modpo?utm_medium=email&utm_source=marketing&utm_campaign=4BZoUBXwEemScaPKX0THWA

 

4."Journaling Through Coronavirus”: How will we put the pieces together? 

The Word Project

Jacinta V. White, Editor of Snapdragon Journal, offers a free Journaling through Coronavirus prompt subscription. 

Sign up to receive the evening prompts by email. 

 

5. IWWG: International Women’s Writer Guild offers “Free Lunch: A Feast for Your Writing” with Judy Huge

Greetings Guild Sisters!

 

IWWG Board Chair, Judy Huge, would like to treat you to a free lunch!

Free Lunch: 

A Feast for Your Writing

with Judy Huge

 

Live on Zoom IWWG’s Digital Village 

March 26, April 2, April 9, April 16, 2020

Lunchtime: 12:15 p.m. to 1:15 p.m. (EDT)

 

REGISTER HERE!

 

IWWG - Free Lunch: A Feast for Your Writing with Judy Huge

Free Lunch: A Feast for Your Writing with Judy Huge                   

“What do you most miss about teaching,” I asked my friend.“Lunch!” she said. I didn’t have to ask why. Lunch offers comfort and company, sometimes in short supply right now. Food awakens memory, revealing stories that need to be told and the imagery needed to tell them true. As Julia Childs writes, “The tomato hides its griefs. Internal damage is hard to spot.” But biting into a tomato, warm from the vine on a summer afternoon, can unlock the trove of memory, metaphor, and meaning your writing needs and listeners crave.

Each week this casual, fast-moving workshop—centered around food and your experiences with it—begins with an evocative example that demonstrates a juicy writing skill, continues with a prompt-propelled free write, and ends with dessert: reading your writing aloud to those gathered around the table.

So come from afar, drop in from next door. Thanks to the IWWG’s amazing Digital Village this live, online workshop is available free to both members and non-members, to those from across the nation and around the globe. Sign up today and join us next Thursday for a feast that will nourish both your writing and your soul.